Cash, Blanche and Me | Two Serious Ladies

“Ten years ago, on a cold dark night”

I worked at a record store from ages 16 to 22. Naturally, we’d all seen High Fidelity, and
emulated its protagonist, a professional appreciator of culture who shallowly declared it
matters what you like, not what you are like and I agreed. That character’s favorite book
of all time was Cash by Johnny Cash. After seeing the film, I read it in two days.

“Did you know my mother loved Johnny Cash, too?” my own mother asked when I
returned home with a shrink-wrapped copy of Cash’s 1968 Live at Folsom Prison. “Of
course she loved that beat—she didn’t like the slow mushy stuff,” she continued…Read More at Two Serious Ladies.

Leave a Reply

